Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 room, 2 adults

Southbank House

3.5-star3.5 stars
34 Southbank Road, Hereford, England, HR1 2TJ, United Kingdom
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.8
Exceptional80 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
  • 10.0
  • 8.0
  • 6.0
  • 4.0
  • 2.0

Narrow reviews:

80 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 16, 2020
Delightful place to stay
An absolute delight Robert and Hilary very welcoming into their beautiful house. Excellent breakfast, very comfortable room and would thoroughly recommend staying there. Next time I visit Hereford this will be the only place to stay.
Lesley2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you Lesley. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we'll see you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 26, 2020
Perfect Overnighter
Excellent facility, comfortable, flexible, convenient parking and a great breakfast including fresh fruit.
Christopher1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your review Chris. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 4, 2020
Southbank House - Business trip
Superb – The couple who host the establishment are warmly welcoming and have a fantastic friendly nature. Excellent breakfast choices will quality products. I really enjoyed my stay - First class.
Greig1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your comments Greig. Sorry we couldn't fit you in tonight.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 11, 2020
It was great, location fab, very friendly and helpful owners and everything was clean and tidy. Water etc in rooms was great.
Laura1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks Laura. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 16, 2019
A great B&B, beautiful rooms, with a short walk into the city. Good quality all round.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 16, 2019
View of Hereford Cathedral and walking distance to town. The owners were very attentive and everything was exceptionally clean and to a high standard. Highly recommended.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your positive review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 31, 2019
This was a lovely B&B, with a beautiful garden (even at the end of October), absolutely spiffy clean bedroom and bathroom, and extremely pleasant sitting room and glassed-in garden room. The hosts were very kind and breakfast was abundant and delicious.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have a good time in Oxford.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 21, 2019
The property was very clean breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The bathroom was a bit small but we managed
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 15, 2019
lovely place to stay
Greeted by the lovely owners. Comfortable room and peaceful. Included a delicious breakfast in the morning
Laura1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks Laura, really happy that you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 23, 2019
Homely accommodation.
Although only stayed one night, a lovely personal place,(more so a B & B than an hotel) with obliging and welcoming hosts. The breakfast wasn't too bad either !
Ian1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks Ian. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Just as a reminder to other guests, we never advertise ourselves as a hotel. We are definitely a B & B.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 5, 2019
We couldn’t fault Southbank House in any way it was excellent
3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you so much for your feedback.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 2, 2019
Beautiful, comfortable, excellent breakfast and very welcoming.
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 24, 2019
Refreshingly different. Flowers everywhere. Fresh fruit for breakfast.
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you very much. Delighted you enjoyed staying with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 15, 2019
The owners are so very pleasant, welcoming and helpful and the accommodation first class, as was breakfast. I would fully recommend others to stay at this well located and lovely property. You will not be disappointed.
John1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks John, delighted you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 11, 2019
Very nice room, airy, bright and comfortable with lots of nice touches. Good breakfast. Short walk into town.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks very much. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 24, 2019
Beautiful House and Gardens near town
We loved this house and gardens. The room was superb, comfortable and roomy, it felt like home. The lady owner was very personable and helpful, the lounge next to the garden was a joy to sit in and view the garden, read or just have a conversation. Breakfast was everything you would like from a B&B. We will be passing again and will return
Stephen1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Hi Stephen. Thank you very much for your positive comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 2, 2019
Beautiful gardens, social rooms and bedroom had a lot of unique old school touches to give you a warm English welcome but also had modern touches to make our stay complete. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. The surrounding neighborhood was safe, upscale and close to the train station.
John2 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you John and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 2, 2019
A little gem !!
A little gem!! Really friendly welcome, lovely setting. I travel with business a lot and stay in many hotels/guest houses and can say that this was very nice. Would recommend to anyone and will stay here again when back in the area.
Shaun1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you Shaun. Hopefully we'll see you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 14, 2019
Character home in beautiful area.
A great place to stay. Very beautiful home and garden. Great hosts.
Donald1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Hi Donald, thanks for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 17, 2019
Excellent all round.
Thomas2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Thomas. Thank you
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 12, 2019
Very friendly breakfast superb,,,,room was very comfortable
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your positive review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 9, 2019
Lovely location in well kept grounds. Quiet but stil close to Hereford City Centre. Host was very friendly and made you feel welcomed. Room was spacious and comfortable. Bed was nice and firm. Good night sleep was had.
2 night romance trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 1, 2019
Good place close to the train station
The place was beautiful and well kept with high-quality service.
Alvaro1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you Alvaro. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 16, 2019
Top marks for Southbank House!
It was awesome - a peaceful, one night stay to visit Hereford Cathedral and meet rarely seen cousins. Hilary was friendly and extremely helpful without being overpowering. She cooked a brilliant breakfast. We didn't need to eat for the rest of the day! Everything was spotless and a sense of calm pervaded the building. We would certainly book again. And if there is a room with a bath, that would spell perfection!
Ruth1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your feedback Ruth. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 7, 2019
I was lucky enough to spend a few days in that stylish, historic and beautifully kept house. Feeling grateful to B&B owners for the highest standards that are maintained throughout The Southbank House.
4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 27, 2019
Sensational southbank house
This has got to be the best place i have ever stayed. The room was so beautiful the bed was large and very comfortable indeed. I loved the little things such as the complimentary water and various teas and beverages in the room. The breakfast was out of this world so delicious there were fresh blueberries and raspberries home made jams , honey and marmalade white crisp tablecloths etc . The hosts Hilary and robert were very friendly and welcoming.
brenda2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you Brenda. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 22, 2019
Lovely property, well maintained and lived up to our expectations. Great location, quiet but witin walking distance of Hereford centre. Owner was very friendly and helpful.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 20, 2019
Business stay
Had a lovely stay. Was warmly greeted and breakfast provided was excellent. Would thoroughly recommend.
Jack1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks Jack
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 10, 2019
3 Nights at Hereford
Arrived at Southbank House a little earlier than expected but the owner was more than happy to check us in to our room. Which was very airy and comfortable and with all the amenities that a couple would need for a short stay. Clean, ensuite, large bed and a writing desk and chair. Tea coffee and water plus in the wardrobe hairdryer and iron. Absolutely perfect. The breakfast (ordered the night before) was more than adequate, hot and cooked to perfection. Good size car park and the premises are situated about 10 minutes walk from the city centre and 5 minutes from bus and railway stations.So all in fairly well located for any form of transport.
Alan3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your positive comments Alan, and we are dlighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 30, 2019
Great Find, very nice hotel with good parking and comfortable beds, it’s close to town with its many attractions and restaurants. Hotel price was good. I will use this again if working in the area.
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 25, 2019
Wonderful service, very accommodating hosts and a great breakfast. Rooms are cozy but there’s a vast and pleasant living room to lounge around in too.
2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your positive feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 29, 2018
Excellent property and even friendlier hosts. Accommodated an extra night at short notice.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 22, 2018
Hidden Gem
Fantastic stay at a very well presented B&B, truely a hidden gem in Hereford. Room was immaculate and comfortable, breakfast was excellent using the best local ingredients. Will definitely use Southbank House again when in the area
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your positive comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 14, 2018
Great period house ,amazing breakfast friendly staff and good service
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you very much for your positive comments and we are dlighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 8, 2018
Quality & value for money
Location was excellent being near city centre. Service & breakfast was first class, could not ask for more. Facilities were excellent in the room & of an excellent standard. Only slight drawback, was that the room felt a little small at times when getting ready to go out. But would definitely go there again.
Mark1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 3, 2018
An excellent choice
Convenient, clean, friendly and high standards in all aspects.
1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your positive comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 6, 2018
Wonderful welcome.
We were late arriving and very tired but were given such a warm welcome and help with our luggage etc. We felt very much welcomed! Breakfast was delicious, and again there was help to get luggage back into our car. Wonderful. We will definitely be back.
Timothy1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your positive feedback Tim.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 28, 2018
Excellent in every way. En suite rather small, but perfectly serviceable.
Tonkmum4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 16, 2018
Great b&b
Really nice b&b. Great room - spacious, clean, comfy. Wonderful breakfast. Great location - 15 min walk into Hereford.
John1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks John. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 3, 2018
Beautiful little hotel, spotless and quite. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. My only slight issue was the size of the shower, very small. I believe that is only in room 3 though
ANDREW1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your comments Andrew and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 22, 2018
Great location and great service !!
Fabulous B&B, great hostess and accessible lounge and dining areas. Friendly at all times and very well presented. Superb breakfast. Location is fantastic we managed to walk into the town centre. 100% would stay again!
Patrick1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks Patrick, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 14, 2018
We had a very nice stay. But the shower was very snug. Every thing else w.as brilliant
Richard4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Hi Richard. Thank you for your kind comments
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 22, 2018
Anniversary stay
I booked Southbank as a treat for our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by Robert who explained everything to us regarding breakfast & how to use the lock on the main door. He showed us up to our room which was excellently decorated, lovely chandelier & furnishings, massive bed & lovely, comfy armchair. We met Hilary in the morning as we went down for breakfast, an abundance of cereals, fruit & yoghurts were on the sideboard. As we settled in Hilary asked us if we would like toast & hot drinks, all the food was lovely & hot with plenty of it. I would definitely recommend Southbank to anyone who wants a quiet out of the way stay away from home, with all the comforts of home. Excellent place to stay, lovely people to look after you.
Lisa1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Hi Lisa. Thanks for your positive feedback, Happy anniversary.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 9, 2018
Warm and friendly welcome, charming home and delicious breakfast. Recommed highly.
Sarah1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you Sarah.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 31, 2018
Absolutely immaculate, welcoming, and wonderful.
The overall level of service from the hosts was wonderful. The room was beautifully prepared with all manner of nice colourful cushions on the bed and pleasant lighting. The cooked breakfast was superb with very interesting ( i suspect locally produced ) bacon and black pudding. Everything tasted different in comparison to equivalent ingredients at large hotels - the real (local) thing. The hosts were very helpful with advice on local history and sightseeing. The house is beautifully ornamented, adorned and furnished. I do not know how the owners manage to keep the place looking so nice and fit in their other lifestyle interests at the same time. All in all this was the best privately-run guesthouse at which i I have ever had the pleasure of staying.
THOMAS1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you so much for your review. We try and use as many local ingredients as we can.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 10, 2018
Fantastic stay well looked after the owners were great hosts. The house and rooms are full of character. Location excellent a short walk into the city and close to public transport. Grounds very well kept. Breakfast everything you could wish for.
Darren1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your positive comments Darren. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 28, 2018
Very special well maintained period house - worth a stay if not just to see it. The en-suite was small but that didn't spoil our overnight stay. We ate our evening meal at the nearby Wetherspoons - we don't recommend the steak! The owner did recommend several other places - we should have ventured further. The Southbank House Breakfast was good.
Judith1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you very much for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 29, 2018
Ideal place to stay in Hereford.
Lovely guest house. Beautifully appointed with thoughtful little extra touches. Everything you could possibly want provided for breakfast.
1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thanks for your positive feedback
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 29, 2018
Lovely
Lovely room for reasonable price
1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Robert
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 24, 2018
Excellent stay in a beautiful, well maintained B&B
Greeted by lovely landlady who showed us to our room - it was the beautiful Hereford room with a view of the town centre / Cathedral. Everything about our stay was brilliant - comfortable bed, excellent shower, well cooked and decent breakfast with generous helpings, very convenient and safe parking right in front of the house. Check out was also quick and efficient.
K1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Robert
Thak you for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews