Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in New York, New York, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults
60 West 36th Street, New York, NY, 10018, United States of America
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.4
Very Good582 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Location
Rated top 4% in New York
  • 9.7Location
    • Wonderful sightseeing
    • Great location
  • 8.6Service
    • Fantastic service
    • Great reception
  • 7.4Breakfast
    • Tasty breakfast

What guests say

  • Wonderful sightseeing
  • Great reception
  • Hotel buildings could use some improvement
  • Rooms need regular maintenance

Narrow reviews:

582 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

2.0PoorCheck-in Jun 28, 2020
Smoke smell come in from a vent. Does not look that room has been sanitized although it has been cleaned. Homeless people sitting in the front entrance.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Erika, General Manager
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your candid feedback. All of our rooms are cleaned, sanitized and disinfected as per IHG & CDC Recommendations. We do have security and take precautions to ensure the safety of our guests and staff.
6.0GoodCheck-in Jun 22, 2020
It was a very nice stay. The morning customer service woman was a pleasure.She made waking up worthwhile. Breakfast could have been better.
Donald3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Erika, General Manager
Donald, thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk agents in the morning. Breakfast standards for Holiday Inn Express have been limited due to COVID - there are not hot items and everything is Grab & Go.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar 18, 2020
Very friendly staff. Great location. The room was clean and had a grear view.
3 night romance trip
Verified CheapTickets guest review
Response by MJ
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb 29, 2020
This hotel is very close to Time Square and other recommended place to visit.
7 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by MJ
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
2.0PoorCheck-in Mar 6, 2020
Front desk put me through hell. He acted like he does not know how to assemble the baby cribs and that they don’t have them available after 9pm. Doug at the front was the problem. We went to another hotel after wasting 2 hours in the lobby. We drove 8 hours to get here. The other hotel front desk was very friendly and came up and set up the baby crib
1 night family trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Erika, General Manager
Dear Anonymous, thank you for your candid review. After speaking with Doug and the Manager On Duty, I can understand your frustration. Crib requests should be made in advance so we can set them up for you. We do hope you give us another chance.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 28, 2020
Friendly staff, very clean, comfortable bed, great breakfast. Only thing wrong, the rooms are quite small but if you’re visiting NYC to get around, no need to worry about room size.
2 night romance trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Erika, General Manager
Anonymous, thank you for staying!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb 19, 2020
Perfect location.
Vera1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Thank you Vera! You are welcome here anytime!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb 16, 2020
Check in might of been a little too long. But everything was fine......
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, By choosing to remain anonymous, we have no way of knowing why your check-in was too long. We do like to take our time with our guests to ensure they feel comfortable, safe and informed.
4.0FairCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
A panel in the bathroom sealing leaked each time the sink or shower was used. The hotel overbooked and as a result I was not able to change rooms until the next day.
JB2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Dear JB, please accept our sincere apologies for the leak you encountered. I know our Engineering team has addressed and we thank you for bringing it to our attention.
6.0GoodCheck-in Feb 15, 2020
Stay was ok mainly cause our Tv was not working and had to tell front desk 3 times before they came to our room and fixed it. Other than that our room was quite small and no refrigerator. Location was great and overall was pretty good.
MaryBeth1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Dear MaryBeth, please accept our sincere apologies for your tv not working. We have since corrected the issue and hope it would not deter you from choosing our hotel in the future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 8, 2020
Weekend Getaway
Great location close to Broadway action and theater district. Easily access from Penn Station.
joseph1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by MJ
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb 6, 2020
Wife's Birthday
Amazing get away for my wife's birthday.
Joel3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward seeing you again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Feb 3, 2020
I loved the breakfast and the service. Great room temperature.
Xenese1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
2.0PoorCheck-in Jan 28, 2020
Beware
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! BEWARE!!!! Horrible staff, very rude, dirty rooms.
Robert1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
Hello Robert thank you for sharing your review . We will would like to hear from you more. Please reach to us via email reservations@expess36th.com
4.0FairCheck-in Jan 25, 2020
I got bites on my right knee and legs from sleeping under the bedsheets, Scary and unpleasant.
Maria2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Dear Maria, We want to research this situation but need more information from you, our valued guest. Please contact the hotel directly to resolve.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan 21, 2020
Room is small for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. Breakfast need to have more variety
4 night family trip
Verified Travelocity guest review
Response by Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Most of our rooms with 2 beds are the same size; did you contact the hotel directly to verify room size prior to booking? Most people comment on how comfortable our rooms are especially for this area of NYC.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan 17, 2020
Good location. Nice, friendly, helpful staff. Enjoying the breakfast
3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by MJ
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
2.0PoorCheck-in Jan 12, 2020
Terrible stay! Not going to stay here ever again.
The room toilet did not flush properly. It was so noisy that I could not even sleep at night. Terrible, terrible stay.
Jamal1 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
thank you for sharing your review. We will would like to hear from you more. Please reach to us via email reservations@expess36th.com
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan 7, 2020
Location was fantastic. Complementary breakfast was great
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan 3, 2020
great stay
I had a wonderful stay at The Holiday inn express Manhattan, the room was very small not enough room to walk around in and the A/C was located right next to the bed so i had a hard time walking around the bed when it was time to go to bed, the front desk was great, breakfast ended very early and i booked this reservations to save on going out to the expensive restaurants which i had to do, but my overall experience was great and i will definitely book again.
yvette3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward seeing you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 8, 2020
Everything was OK it’s just that when I was trying to use the bathroom door .It wasn’t the best door by that I mean the door wasn’t sliding correctly. I feel like some screws were loose or something.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday
Thank you for your feedback we will forward you concern to the right department . We look forward seeing you again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jan 3, 2020
Weekend stay in NYC
Extremely convenient location with a short walk to shopping and Times Square. Very clean room, a bit small but that's New York. Bed was comfy. No blankets that we found in room, just a blanket insert. Asked for soap and it was quickly brought to us. Free hot breakfast everyday. Spacious patio outside if you smoke. Overall would return for a longer stay. Bar/restaurant across the street was delicious.
Craig2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
Thank you for your feedback we will forward you concern to the right department . We look forward seeing you again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 30, 2019
Great hotel spot near most attractions by walking ~5-35mins.
Steven4 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 31, 2019
No, I am not interest in give any more information
2 night romance trip
Verified CheapTickets guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
The Room for being in New York City Was spacious and clean. The employees were curtious and helpful. I liked the location because it felt central to most of the tourist attractions we went to.
Shannon3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 27, 2019
Excellent location with great access to the Metro stations.
3 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 20, 2019
The location was excellent. It was within walking distance of Penn Station, Herald Square, Macy's, Bryant Park, Times Square and Rockefeller Center.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Holiday
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 11, 2019
three star New York
the Hotel was in an excellent location, a few minutes walk to Times Square and Penn station. I would consider the Hotel as a three star. The breakfast was adequate, the breakfast room was very tired with badly torn seating. The staff were very pleasant. Our room 606 was ok, overlooking the street, and was noisy at times with sirens etc Overall though we were made welcome and I would reccomend it.
raymorand5 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 17, 2019
Was good for the quick visit. Nice breakfast set up and comfortable rooms. On short list for returns
henry2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 18, 2019
rse
Everything was great except my reservation made with hotel.com was not in the system when we arrived. The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful in resolving the issue but was annoying.
Barb1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Holiday
Thank you for your feedback we will forward you concern to the right department. We look forward seeing you again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 11, 2019
Very satisfied with our choice!
Enjoyed our stay. Good location close to time square. Gives you a chance to stay away from the crowds but still within a few minute walk of time square. Would stay again.
Angela4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 10, 2019
Lovely position in NY Central for walking and theaters.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by MJ
Thank you for your rating. We look forward seeing you again.
6.0GoodCheck-in Dec 7, 2019
Great Location
My “deluxe” room was not ready at check-in time. We had to wait over an hour and a half for someone to clean it. The communication regarding this delay was poor. The room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the noisy street, so save your money and do not bother with the deluxe room. The location was great, and the included breakfast was convenient. Had the check-in process been smooth and the room on a higher floor, I believe this would have been a pleasant stay. I will not be staying here again, but I do think you can book and plan your arrival after the designated check-in time and have a great stay!
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 2, 2019
....great location for my needs. Very friendly and helpful staff
Jan2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 26, 2019
Great location close to subways and restaurants.
David3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Nov 18, 2019
Terribly small rooms, shower leaked into floor every time we used it, constant “food” smell in hallway and our room. Staff was friendly, beds were comfortable. Had to pay extra for early check in even though IHG member; waited more than 20 minutes as a staff member tried to check in another guest- only one person at desk at a very busy time of night. Breakfast was good enough for free hotel food, coffee was good. Location not bad right off 5th Avenue and close enough to walk to Bryant Park and Radio city music hall. Subway conveniently located as well. Probably wouldn’t stay at the property again as have had better experiences at other properties in NY.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry about the inconveniences. We would like to hear more about your experience and invite you to reach out to us directly with more details. We look forward to hearing from you
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 18, 2019
Great location Close to restaurants and attractions
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Shantilly
Thanks for choosing our location for your stay.We look forward on seeing you soon.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Nov 5, 2019
I booked through Expedia instead of directly with IHG, I called the hotel and they would not accept my Elite Gold Membership status so I lost points as a result. From now on, no bookings for my hotels will be made through Expedia. As far as the room goes, asked them to put me on a high floor and they put me on 3. Finally the drain in the bathroom sink was not working so maintenance had to snake it and pulled out enough hair to make a small animal. Other than that, all was well. The beds are extremely comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is good.
Kerrie3 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tiffany
Kerrie, Thank you for being one of our loyal Gold Elite members. We appreciate your loyalty. We are sorry for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We can assure your this is not standard for us. We will ensure to use your feedback to improve our property. We hope you stay with us again soon!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 7, 2019
Room was very clean with nice comfortable linens and pillows. Room was also quiet.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your stay. We are happy to know that your stay with us was comfortable. We hope you visit us again during your next visit !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 27, 2019
Great location and helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast gave a great start to the day.
5 night romance trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
Response by Tiff
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your stay. We are happy to know that you were able to enjoy of our hotel as well as its location. We look forward to you visiting us again in the near future !
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 17, 2019
Great location, overall good stay
Well located in mid Manhattan, clean, friendly staff at the front desk. Will return!
3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tiff
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We are delighted to know that our staff made a difference in your experience and can assure you we will be sharing your friendly comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 16, 2019
great place!
Leandro6 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by tiff
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 19, 2019
This location was great for those trying to do the usual NY touristy things completed. It is central to everything you need and literally a few streets down every major subway station you need. It is definitely in the tourist place of town right south of Times Square, so if you're looking for something quieter or less hustle and bustle, look into the more southwestern areas of Manhattan like Soho, East Village or Chelsea. The price was less than other areas so I strongly recommend checking this place out. They even called us to let us know we can check in early to our room as like many people flew into the city and left our bags there while we waited for our room to be ready. Great place!
5 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for sharing your experience ! We are happy to know that you were able to enjoy of your stay. We hope you visit us again in the near future!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 18, 2019
Good hotel with all amenities
The overall experience was good. The hotel is on prime location and easily accessible to many tourist locations. Morning breakfast is great and have a wide range of option. The rooms are small but it’s new York you expect that.My only call out is the doors. Can they be sound proof?I had a neighbour who comes back around 3 in the morning and bangs her door however it feels like your door is being knocked and you are up in the middle of the night and are disturbed.
Radharani4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express TSS. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed of your stay as well as the location. We look forward to your return!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 12, 2019
Rooms are small, breakfast is good
breakfast is good. rooms are small
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your stay. We are happy to know that you were able to enjoy of the breakfast in the mornings. We hope you visit us again during your next trip into the NYC area!
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 16, 2019
Ok not great
Couple issues: 1. They refused to believe I had a 5 day stay and blamed it on hotels . Com 2. One of the days the room was not maintained at all. No new towels, bed not made, no new cups or coffee pods, etc
Edward2 night business trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tiffany
Edward, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy of the service provided during your stay. We can assure you this is not the standard for us. We will be using your feedback to improve our procedures moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2019
Comfortable and relaxing stay. Staff very helpful. Breakfast very nice plenty choice.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know your stay with us was pleasurable and look forward to you staying with us in the near future !
6.0GoodCheck-in Sep 27, 2019
Great location. Very small rooms. Breakfast was terrible. Zero amenities. Only the top floor shields you from the horns, sirens, and people.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy of your stay. We will use your feedback as an opportunity to improve the service and amenities provided. We hope you provide us with an opportunity to better serve you in the future.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 2, 2019
Typical HI Express. Every thing was fine and generally predictable. Obviously a very small room given the location, but it was fine and actually pretty quiet.
1 night business trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for your review. We are proud to have meet your expectation for Holiday Inn Express. We are also happy to know that you found our rooms to be quiet. We hope you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future !
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 3, 2019
Reasonable stay at city center
Good location at city center Rooms are not big Breakfast restaurant gets very crowded
Binyamin6 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Tiffany
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express for your stay. We are happy to know that our location was a plus during your stay. We hope you visit us again during your next trip to NYC!
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews