Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in Venice, Veneto, Italy
1 room, 2 adults
Salizada San Lio 5547 Castello, Venice, VE, 30122, Italy
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
8.4
Very Good94 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Food
Rated top 5% in Venice
  • 9.3Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 9.1Bar
    • Good alcoholic drinks
    • Bar is awesome
  • 9.0Food
    • Great menu
    • Delicious food
    • Good side dishes
    • Awesome pasta
    • Tasty breakfast
  • 7.8Value
    • Best value for money
Show more

What guests say

  • Good alcoholic drinks
  • Awesome pasta
  • Good side dishes
  • Great menu

Narrow reviews:

94 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

4.0FairCheck-in Nov 7, 2019
Staff is not so nice, never asked if we were ok in the room, no cooling air conditioner just warming which We think we should have had more than one choices, so we had to open the windows to sleep. We spent two nights in the property and they never cleaned the room. The shower area is very small that I can’t ever wash my hair comfortable. The safe box is super old and no very reliable. Only few international tv channels, a lot of local channels. Not worthy! I would not recommend the property except for being well located.
Lay2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Dear Lay, we think every option is personal but we do not accept two things, the daily cleaning that is made for sure and the kindness of our staff that wait your arrival at midnight, after the time wrote through Expedia and on the confirmation mail you receive, without asking you to pay the extra fee for late arrival. We never receive 2/5 and we think if you decide to book was for our reviews. Anyway we will keep your "suggestion" to improve our structure. Thank you
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 4, 2019
Location
Great location!
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by rossella
Thank you! we hope to have you again in future!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 11, 2019
We had a great experience, very friendly staff. The only complaint was there is no soap dish in the shower & no blackout curtains. Only sheer curtains .
ALAN2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you Alan, we will keep your feedback to improve our place
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug 2, 2019
general review
The bed had a very hard mattress; I had back pain for a number of days after the stay. Otherwise, we had excellent food in the integrated restaurant, and the location could not be more perfect.
Ulrich4 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
We apologize for the bed, but i think is subjective and is difficult to come to all different wishes of the guests. Sorry again. Glad you enjoy the restaurant and location! Kind regard
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 12, 2019
Definitely Recommend
Amazing experience. Location perfect near to St Marks, shops and Rialto - all key must visit areas.Room clean and airy.
Shazia3 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your feedback , we hope to have you again next time !
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun 5, 2019
This is basically a room over the restaurant. It is nice and clean but a little small for 3 people. Check in and out is with the restaurant staff. One issue is that it's not clear who to contact if you have a problem when the restaurant is closed. (For example, the air conditioner kept shutting off at night.) Breakfast is nice, but limited selection and hours.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
We hope you explain this to our staff as we did not receive any trouble from you also by mail. We regret about air condition problems
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 10, 2019
Excellent time in Venice
Service could not been any better. Staff was excellent & helped with arranging taxi to train station
Edward C1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you Edward, we hope to meet you again and we are glad you enjoy our place!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 31, 2019
Very nice and friendly staff. Good location. Good food and amenities.
2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your feedback! hope to have you again
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 28, 2019
Great location and friendly staff. Would happily stay there again
4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you! we are glad you enjoy our place! hope to meet you again too
8.0Very GoodCheck-in May 13, 2019
Nice continental breakfast and were very accommodated holding our luggage. Very small room.
Lisa1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you hope to meet you again in future.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 25, 2019
No tea facilities kettle. Other than that it was very comfortable.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by rossella
Thank you ! we will keep this as a suggestion!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 22, 2019
Lovely place to stay
Very nice stay. My only comment but not a complaint is it’s noisy at night!!
Caroline3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank youvery much and we apologize for the noise!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar 1, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff and in a great location for accessing the main parts of Venice.
3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 6, 2018
Great location but a bit noisy due to being on a busy street and over a restaurant.
photofan3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review. Regard
6.0GoodCheck-in Oct 11, 2018
The room was ok but certainly not 5 stars and was not good value for money. The shower was rubbish and was very week. There was also black mould in the shower cubicle and the air conditioning unit worked intermittently. Central ish location on Venice was its only redeeming feature.
2 night trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
Response by Rossella
we apologize, hope to knowing before next time
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 2, 2018
+ very well located, friendly, - small shower, room is big but not really cosy
Christian4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by rossella
thank you
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 4, 2018
Good room, great location
Kevin1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by rossella
thank you
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 14, 2018
Taverna San lino in Venice
Very close to San Marco square. Busy area. Very close to grocery shopping. The room itself was very good. My only complaint would be the mattress, which was thin and not very comfortable. The restaurant at street level which is part of this hotel or b&b is excellent. Breakfast is really good too. Rolls, jam, cheese, coffee and cake. Brought to your table.
Robert3 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review! hope to meet you again in future
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 17, 2018
Great location. The building is older but well maintained. The beds could be updated with better linens.
Mike2 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you I will keep your advice! kind regards
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug 21, 2018
Perfect location - Fantastic staff
Perfect location for getting around and seeing the sights. All of the team at the Taverna San Lio were amazing, so welcoming and friendly. It really does make all the difference.
3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoy the stay and our staff!
4.0FairCheck-in Aug 23, 2018
The room was extremely pokey, located above the restaurant. It had no natural light and the two tiny windows opened up onto a stone wall a few feet away. Definitely gave the feeling of claustrophobia. The room itself was very clean as well as the bathroom which was also very modern. The breakfast downstairs was very nice though, with honestly the best cappuccino in town! So the restaurant gets two thumbs up!
Lyn2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 15, 2018
Nice comfortable, clean place for family with kids. It would have been better if they had a few more USB outlets for charging devices. The window doors were a bit tricky but, overall, it is a nice place with nice staff.
K2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review, we will keep your device to improve our services! kind regard
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 17, 2018
Very good location nice staff
Excellent location, good air coniditioning
Armando2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you ! hope to have you again in future! kind regard
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug 9, 2018
Good location, good sized room and good breakfast.
Hotel is in a great location within the centre of Venice. The room was a good size, clean and modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Dined here too on our last night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Only cons were the room safe was very small and although we were able to leave our luggage (downstairs in the restaurant) once we checked out, it wasn’t overly secure. No issues though an would recommend.
Jonathan1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Dear Jonathan, thank you for your review we will keep your suggestions to improve our service! kind regard
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 30, 2018
The hotel is located in close proximity to the Rialto and San Marco. You may just walk and you will be there in less than 5 or less. The location of the hotel We would say the best and provides you access to almost every where. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They are very welcoming. Rooms are good and u would say above average. The size of the rooms is ideal. The prices are very reasonable. We really loved this hotel. There is a restaurant in ground floor. Only negative I would say is the crowd. This is manly due to location and tourist thoroughfare between Rialto and San Marco.
Ashtar2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you! hope to have you again in our Taverna san Lio !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 28, 2018
Great hotel in Venice
This hotel was perfect ! The only thing I’d say, it was a little like apartment living. But the staff was very helpful, you just have to seek it out in the restaurant.No concierge to tell you where to go, so it is recommended to get a great guide book, like, lonely planet discovering Italy. But perfect hotel if you have made arrangements or can self guided your tours
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Dear Guest, We apologize but we are a Bed & Breakfast not an hotel, we will check but in the description there is no reception included. We will keep your suggestion to give our guests more informations at check in! Thank you Kind regard
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 26, 2018
Where to leave the key when checking out early
There was no attendant in the morning..left the key on the night stand. I am Gabriel
1 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by rossella
Dear Guest, we apologize to did not advise you, in this case there were no problem to leave the keys in the room! Kind regards Rossella
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 16, 2018
Wonderful trip
Great stay! Close to everything, extremely friendly staff, clean room, delicious food, great value for price. Would highly recommend.
Mark2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you so much for your great review, hope to have you again in future with us!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun 1, 2018
fantastic location, easy to find with walking access to entire rialto/san marco area; friendly/helpful staff, nice breakfast included
2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review, it has been a pleasure, we hope to have you again in future!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 8, 2018
Amazing!!
Martine2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you very kind of you! Hope to have you again in Taverna San Lio!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 30, 2018
Great place to know Venice
Very convenient, breakfast was amazing and they have a excellent restaurant too. Location is a must.
Diego2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in May 31, 2018
We were given directions to the hotel, which was very helpful! However, we weren’t given instructions on how to check in - which we found confusing. We popped into the restaurant and one of the staff members showed us upstairs to our room. They asked to see our passports for check in, but we didn’t expect they would take them and keep them during our stay. The room was okay. It was clean, and there was AC which was good. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows quite flat. The bathroom was very tight - not a lot of space to move around. We didn’t get a chance to try the food/complimentary breakfast as it was only between the hours of 9-1030 (we had a pre-booked tour for 930, and were told we couldn’t have breakfast before). It was okay for a one night stay.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 18, 2018
It was quick but exactly what we needed! Nice staff, great little breakfast, and the room was just what we needed. Pretty convenient location too.
Erin1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 14, 2018
Great location, staff very helpful
Great location, the staff was superhelpful. No formal front desk, you check in via the restaurant staff. The room is basic, but very comfortable. I would totally stay here again and recommend it - great value, great location.
Chad4 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in May 9, 2018
The hotel room itself was fairly nice. But the room was terribly noisy because of construction workers and also the restaurant directly below (with whom you check in with). I found the bed to be very uncomfortable. It's in a nice area, but I would definitely stay elsewhere next time.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 20, 2018
Great location, lovely staff
Great central location in Venice, room was spacious and clean. The staff were really helpful. Lovely breakfast. We ate in the restaurant one evening, great food. We had to leave early to pick up our airport transfer on the last day and they came in early so we could have breakfast.
Sara2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
6.0GoodCheck-in Mar 28, 2018
Reasonable hotel near St Mark square & doge palace
Room is a little old but clean and bed is comfortable. Not much sound proof and wifi is slow. Shower cubicle is small. Best not to lug big luggages as there’s no lift. The restaurant serves really nice pasta at pretty reasonable price. There’s a guy who speaks very good English, and we thank him for proving the navigation to the hotel the day before the check in.
joan2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 25, 2018
Nice hotel closed to everything
Very clean, the bed was good and the location perfect
Yanet1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Nov 9, 2017
Plus: Clean and smart room, nice bathroom. Minus: The windows open onto blank walls, so no view and very dark. There is noise from the busy street and no screens against the mosquitoes.
2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Taverna San Lio
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will try to manage these problems.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 22, 2017
Excellent location
We stayed for four nights while exploring Venice. The hotel is on one of the main paths between the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. It is more of a restaurant with rooms but there is a separate access for guests. Breakfast is bread and cakes, tea/coffee and orange juice. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. The lady running the restaurant/rooms was helpful and there is an option to store bags before and after checkout.
Becky3 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 28, 2017
Great location,budget friendly
The location of this "hotel" is great! 3 mins walk from the Rialto Bridge, shopping, restaurants, a supermarket is nearby, and a quick walk to St Mark's square etc. I say "hotel" in quotes because I felt it was more like a hostel/ air B&B. Our room was spacious; accommodating 1 queen bed, and two other beds, the bathroom is big enough for one person to get dress in there, the showers are small but that is expected in European places (unless you're paying $$$). Our room was facing the streets so when the windows were open, it does get slightly noisy during the day and night. TV was working, there was a mini fridge, NO coffee maker or electric kettle (safety reasons perhaps?). Friendly reminder there are no elevators (expected in Europe) so its a short flight of stairs to get in and out of the hotel (Security: pretty good- you will know why if you book with them). The staff was friendly, we were allowed to drop off our luggage with them before check-in time; they also took our heavier luggage upstairs when we did check in. the included breakfast is a typical? Venetian/Italian breakfast (a muffin, dinner rolls with butter and juice/coffee). If this is an issue - you can always grab breakfast around the corner (that's what my group and I did to make it in time for our 9 am tour) Recommended! To get here, you can talk the watertaxi (private or local) and get off at the Rialto Bridge, just make sure you are fit enough to drag all your luggage over and across.
lin.M2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 19, 2017
A nice surprise
We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room & the facilities (they changed our towels even if we stayed only 2 nights). It's like a home-away-home since you have your own keys. Nice & friendly staff. Great location. The restaurant food is great too. Not noisy at all, considering you are in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Great value for money.
Anna2 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2017
My family and I had a great stay. The location was perfect for exploring Venice and getting lost in the streets. Our flight had been cancelled and Rossella and Marco very kindly met us off the water taxi at midnight to take us to the Taverna. Much appreciated.
Alice2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Sep 22, 2017
Perfect location
Location was central to everything. Lovely restaurant serving delicious breakfast every morning. Private little room which was perfect for a budget weekend break
kal2 night trip
Verified Ebookers guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug 17, 2017
Good Location
We were lost on arrival, but they were very accommodating when we rang to say we were lost. The guy came looking for us. Very good and convenient location. Very good breakfast. Clean room and overall good service.
Shahista2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by rossella
Thank you for your review, we hope to accommodate you again in future!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 10, 2017
Location perfect
Great location and friendly staff.
kylie1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review

The following reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Oct 22, 2019
Insgesamt empfehlenswert
Unter Berücksichtigung der Lage und der Bausubstanz im Zentrum von Venedig war die Taverne San Lio mehr als zufriedenstellend. Das Essen war gut und der Service (vermutlich inhaberbetreut) sehr freundlich.
Siegfried4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your review, we hope to have you again!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Aug 20, 2019
Era un espacio amplio y cómodo, con un baño cómodo. Por lo general se resume la estancia en notable y con un gran desayuno. El aire falla ya que al volver a la habitación Había perdido agua y tuvimos que secarlo entero.
Sergio1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Dear Sergio, thank you for your feedback, we apologize for the air-conditioning, i hope you advise the staff they should come and check it. Kind regard
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 26, 2019
Todo perfecto
Excelente estancia, cuarto amplio y comodo
Alejandro2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Muchas gracias ! Vamos esperarla otra vez !
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 5, 2019
Så bra läge!! Kvinnan på hotellet vilken service så trevlig och hjälpsam. Restaurangen kanon mat, Dock var frukosten ingen hit. Endast bröd marmelad och söta bakelser.
Maria4 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Rossella
Thank you for your advise
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews