Important: This destination may have COVID-19 travel restrictions in place, including specific restrictions for lodging. Check any national, local, and health advisories for this destination before you book.

Close
Skip to main content.
All properties in New York, New York, United States of America
1 room, 2 adults

414 Hotel

3.5-star3.5 stars
414 W 46th St, New York, NY, 10036, United States of America
  • Collect stampsYou can collect Hotels.com™ Rewards stamps here
9.6
Exceptional180 All of our reviews have come from real guests who have stayed at the property.verified guest
reviews
Service Friendliness
Rated top 2% in New York
  • 9.8Service
    • Fantastic service
  • 9.7Location
    • Great location
  • 8.9Bar
    • Bar is awesome
  • 8.4Room
    • Great room
    • Very quiet
    • Very comfortable
Show more

What guests say

  • Friendly service
  • Very quiet
  • Friendly atmosphere
  • Elevator in need of updating

Narrow reviews:

180 verified guest reviews

Guest rating

10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 21, 2019
Loved the prooerty staff very helpful and couldnt do enough for us. Would definatly go back agIn
7 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Glad to hear!!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Mar 12, 2019
Boutique hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review

The following English reviews were posted by hotel guests from other countries

8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar 5, 2020
The 414 was located very conveniently for those who want to walk a bit to get to theaters, restaurants and trains. The small size of the hotel made for a unique experience in that the rooms were somewhat like small apartments. The King room was clean, but awkward in that it was a couple of steps below ground level off the rear courtyard. Staff was super friendly and kind.
Dmack3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Mar 1, 2020
Little Gem in the Big Apple
Great Staff and location.
Steven2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 24, 2020
Location was ideal for museums, shows and dining. Staff was welcoming and attentive. Hotel is old-world style, offering a unique stay in what were once 2 residential buildings from the past converted into one 22-room quaint boutique hotel joined by a cute outdoor courtyard. Bathroom finishes and beds are modern, comfortable and attractive. A fabulous way to celebrate a big birthday! Thank you, 414. We’ll be back.
Jeanne2 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Feb 7, 2020
Staff was very friendly. Hotel was very clean. Felt like a B&B.
1 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 17, 2020
Great service small hotel
The hotel is situated in a great location close to Broadway and many restaurants. The team are warm and friendly and really try to make you feel at home. the gathering spot inside the front entrance was a very good idea. the building is old so stairs are a bit narrow and rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and clean. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to see shows and be centrally located and do not need the amenities of a larger hotel.
clare3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 18, 2020
Hidden Gem
Cute place! Super friendly and helpful staff. Very close to Broadway and tons of dining in Hells Kitchen. Parking a block away. Really great place!!
Rhiannon1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jan 14, 2020
The hotel was clean, comfortable with a very friendly accommodating staff. Very well situated in midtown.
1 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thanks for your feedback, please come back and stay with us again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 29, 2019
It was great to have a bathtub. Comfortable bed. Great staff.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 22, 2019
Hidden gem
Another great stay! Rachel was especially helpful at check in and while I waited for my room to be ready because I arrived early.
1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you! We look forward to having you back soon.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 10, 2019
Awesome!
The location was amazing and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating! The communal table was inviting and allowed everyone to get to know one another. We will definitely return!
David2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thanks for staying with us! We are looking forward to having you back next time.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Dec 9, 2019
Everyone there was great. Very friendly and helpful. Room was nice! They made our 40th anniversary very special.
Ruth2 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
We are so glad you chose us for such a special event. We are grateful to have had you stay with us, thank you. Please come back and stay with us again.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Dec 3, 2019
Excellent, helpful, friendly staff / concierge
Excellent, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff who provided maps and answered questions in advance and while there, arranged for car service to the airport, directed us to restaurant options, gave accurate and easy to follow directions. Fantastic hot water and water pressure in bath/shower. Lovely bath/toiletry products. Tea/coffee and light snacks available 24/7. Great location just enough out of the Times Square fray. We unfortunately arrived too late for social hour (wine & cheese I'm told) but breakfast was included--which was pretty typical continental breakfast choices of mostly breads/carbs, though fresh fruit was available as well as yogurt--the real highlight were the scones. The hotel is located a half block from restaurant row. It's a nice space. I don't know if all the rooms are like ours was, but we had no chair at all in our room, which was missed (with just the bed to sit on). The bed was a bit too large for the space, but one could just walk around it. Unfortunately, I did not sleep much though the bed was above average in comfort. There was this periodic noise that kept waking me--I eventually determined it to be associated with the mini fridge (so I unplugged it). I also had an issue understanding the heating system (I did go ask the staff in the middle of the night, who told me that it was set appropriately for). But between the fridge noises and the being too cold, then too dry and too hot, it was not restful sleep. However, my teen slept fine.
Melissa1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, we appreciate your feedback!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 27, 2019
We love to stay here. Everyone who works here is amazing. It’s like family. Can’t get a better location. Steps from Broadway and Times Square. Free breakfast and free happy hour!
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it. We are looking forward to to having you back next time.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Nov 21, 2019
Absolutely loved it.
We have been to New York several times and stayed in some of the bigger hotels in midtown. This is a small European style b&b with a great staff. Jacqui was great in making arrangements and giving tour advice. Only one block from Restaurant Row; three blocks to times square. We enjoyed meeting other guests during the continental breakfast or social hour in the lobby. Some guests had been here multiple times--a testament to this hotel. We will definitely come back. Only drawback is no lift however we did not have to bring our bags to our room.
Arlette4 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thanks Arlette, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Nov 23, 2019
comfortable
It is a charming property. My room 305 was a bit out of the way. The heat was not working but the helpful woman at the desk got it to work. I would return.
Joan1 night trip with friends
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again and give us a chance to improve your experience.
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Nov 11, 2019
Great little hotel. Very clean, very friendly staff. Rooms a bit outdated, but warm.
Memi2 night business trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you for your feedback
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 30, 2019
I loved the spacious room and bathroom. GREAT water pressure and very little noise. Beautiful little garden and very nice attentive staff that gave us very good recommendations on food/ entertainment ( Beccos) was amazing! We hope to be back ASAP!
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you! Please stay with us again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 23, 2019
New York break
A lovely little hotel in a great location. The service was fantastic & we loved the daily wine & cheese social. The beds were comfy & the rooms were a good size and clean. The only downside was the lack of an elevator especially when your room is on the 4th floor! If this might be an issue for you request a room on the first floor.
3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please stay with us again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 22, 2019
Great location to theaters. Room is small, as are most in NYC. Suggest they put the Mimi fridge on top of dresser so that they can put a small chair in the room. Staff was excellent.
Marilyn1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 10, 2019
Hotel and staff were fantastic! We would definitely come back the next time we are in NYC.
Heather4 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you so much! We look forward to having you back next time.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 5, 2019
A great base to explore Manhattan
It is the second time we stayed here. The place is clean, the service is great, the location is less than 10 min walk to the Time Sq. I have only two small complaints. 1. This year we booked a Premier Queen Room because we needed to a roll-away bed. The roll away bed was a bit flimsy, and the room was not bigger than a normal Queen Room. 2. The breakfast room/lobby is very small and because a large group of German tourists occupied it for long periods of time, there was not enough space for tables and chairs for the other guests during the breakfast or the happy hour. All being said, we recommend this hotel for location, service and being good value for money.
Marin4 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thanks for staying with us, by the time you stay with us next time we hope to have some more seating in the courtyard available.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Oct 9, 2019
414 a great hotel in central NYC!
414 is in a perfection location for visiting theaters, restaurants, and sites in NYC! The room are comfortable and quiet. The 5:30 wine/cheese hour is nice and the morning cappuccino and bagels for breakfast are great.
Stephen1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thanks, please come back and stay with us again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 23, 2019
A Gem!!
This gem of a hotel was excellent in every way! Complimentary breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the early evening were served in the cozy lobby. It was the perfect way to meet "neighbors" and make friends from around the world! Jackie, the receptionist/host is wonderful - knows the area, knows the city and has answers to any question about what to see and how to get there. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable - fresh fluffy towels, an AC unit with remote control, and working wifi. The hotel is away from the main avenues, yet close to Times Square and walkable to many attractions. It even has a private outdoor courtyard and a small front porch to sip morning coffee and watch the city wake up.
Margaret5 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you so much, please come back and stay with us again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 17, 2019
Smaller, quieter hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Good location in easy walking distance of Times Square and restaurants but without the noise! Comfortable room and good bathroom. Cosy and friendly feel with free wine and cheese early evening for a sociable chat with other guests.
3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you, please come back and stay with us again.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 15, 2019
A too short 3 day first trip to NYC
For first time visitors to NYC who ejoy being out of the noise this probably the place for you to consider. The staff is like having a on site tour guide and the place is like a B & B plus. Your are just two short blocks from all the noise and bustle of NYC but just that short distance is so nice and relaxing as is not dealing with cold lobbies and elevators etc. The common areas for breakfast and evening gatherings become very family like as everyone is sharing stories and experiences. Also most important is the place is clean and the neighbourhood felt very nice and like stepping back a bit in time. All pictures on the website are very representive of what you will get so it is nice not having surprises. Would not hesitate to rebook.
paul3 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Thank you sir, please come back again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 18, 2019
Will stay again!
Really great, unique place. Very friendly team. Great coffee!
john1 night trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Nick
Look forward to seeing you again!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Sep 9, 2019
414 Hotel is like an older, small European hotel 20 minutes from the theater district and Restaurant Row. The staff is charming and helps guests maneuver luggage on the steps. I wasn’t impressed by the cereal, toast, bagels and dry scones for breakfast.
Pat2 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Thank you so much for the kind words! Glad you had a great stay.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 5, 2019
Great location. Love afternoon wine and cheese. The staff makes you feel right at home.
2 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We really appreciate it!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Aug 3, 2019
Stay happy at 414
This is a great hotel; the proprietors have attended to every detail including making excellent suggestions for tourists and business travelers alike. The room was spacious, comfortable and I loved the location which is on a quiet street just blocks away from the busiest blocks in town. Can't wait to go back. Also the espresso machine made a great cup of morning coffee. And the in-room snacks are priced reasonably (cheap, even) which makes the Milanos even sweeter.
Liz1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mark
Such nice words! Thank you. Look forward to seeing you soon..
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 20, 2019
Ashley at the front desk was friendly and helpful. A quick and easy check in! The room is clean, modern and mine had a small fridge! The location can’t be beat. Hells Kitchen is NYC premier gay neighborhood and it has it all! Besides the fabulous neighborhood transit options are easy in this area. Would come back again!
1 night trip
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Mark
Thanks for the kind words. Yes - we are very centrally located in New York City. Hope to see you seen..
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jul 15, 2019
Good locations to restaurants. Must parallel parking to unload luggages. no elevator.
1 night trip with friends
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Glad you had a great time!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jul 9, 2019
New York
Booking this hotel again whenever I’ll stay in NY
Sonja3 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mark
Great!!!!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 27, 2019
This is, hands down, the best personal staff and service I have ever received, in any travel setting, anywhere, and I have travelled the world from South Africa to Australia, to Israel, to Europe and in 43 states. Jacqui and Rachek and their colleagues were simply brilliant - warm, genuine, eager to help, understanding, personable, and sweet as family. What a gem! And, the front porch and lobby, the red door, the excellent coffee and snacks and breakfast service were so appreciated, ascetic, inviting, and soul saving. Thank you 414 Staff!
2 night trip with friends
Verified Orbitz guest review
Response by Mark
Wow - thank you so much for taking the time to write such thoughtful words. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you soon...
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 26, 2019
Best hotel in nyc!! Terrific, attentive staff at a hotel in which every effort is made to make guests feel like guests.
Arealguest1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Yes - the staff is fantastic... Thank you!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 22, 2019
Great stay at 414!!
Our stay at the 414 hotel was amazing even if it was one night. Staff was friendly and answered questions that we had about the area. Rooms were a good size. There are 4 floors and no elevator but worth the stay!! Very close to times square, centwal park, Rockefeller Center and close to Subway to get to other locations
Courtney1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mark
Glad you had a great stay!
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Jun 18, 2019
Very good hotel in Hell's Kitchen
This hotel has a lot going for it. The location, on W 46th between 9th & 10th, is great for anyone in town for theater. You are a short walk from all the shows, and all the great restaurants & bars in Hell's Kitchen. The staff are great - friendly & helpful. Our room & bathroom were roomy by New York standards. The bed was comfy and the AC both worked well & was quiet. The building is older but well maintained, rooms are clean, and continental breakfast is provided in the lobby. The downside? No elevator. We were on a 4th floor room so we got awfully tired of hiking up those narrow, steep stairways. That's OK for the young ones! Despite those stairs, we'd stay here again.
6 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mark
Thanks for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! Hope to see you soon..
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 1, 2019
Front desk staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was a great bonus. Clean room, comfortable bed, fridge and safe in room, and you can actually adjust the AC temperature. A couple of minor negatives: (1) we could hear the people walking around on the floor above us, (2) the cleaning staff didn't replace empty shampoo/lotion and we had to ask the front desk ourselves. But overall a wonderful experience. We've never tried a boutique hotel before this one. So glad that we did and will definitely stay here again next time we are in NYC.
4 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Thank you for the insights. We review all comments with the staff, so this is helpful Happy Travels..
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 5, 2019
Fantastic place, great hostess, great location
james1 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mark
Yes - our location is A+++
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Jun 6, 2019
Lovely hotel in perfect location for a Broadway show.
1 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Thanks for the kind words!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 25, 2019
The hotel lobby was so fun, it was very cozy with a communal table and a great continental breakfast. We met many other guests of the hotel who were from around the world. The staff were fantastic, very knowledgeable about the city and made sure we had every need met. I highly recommend this hotel.
Whitney3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Yes - we have a great time here!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 9, 2019
I like the cleanses, the ambience of the staff and other travelers. We enjoy happy hour and breakfast. It would be nice if Dad an elevator or small elevator to get upstairs.
1 night trip
Verified CheapTickets guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in May 4, 2019
Love 414
Amazing experience! Loved the homey feel! Breakfast, social hour and the informative staff made it that much better! Rooms were clean but nothing special.
Chrys2 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Apr 30, 2019
Overall very nice, clean, quiet and the staff were very accommodating.
Mayer2 night romance trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 29, 2019
Lovely staff. Great location. I would definitely stay here again. Social hour was a nice touch. Breakfast was a little light on.
1 night trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Thank you for your input! Social is a guest favorite...
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 27, 2019
The staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We could not have had a better experience! The location of the hotel was fabulous! Would recommend the 414 wholeheartedly.
debra1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
Response by Mark
So thoughtful..thank you!
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 22, 2019
We really enjoyed our stay at 414. The room, the wi-fi, the TV, the continental breakfast, the afternoon wine and cheese, the staff (especially the staff), the location, everything, excellent. Oh, and did I mention they have a Jura machine (espresso maker) in the common area. So good. Highly recommended.
Ransim3 night romance trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Response by Mark
Our guests love the 24/7 espresso. Thanks for staying with us.
10.0ExceptionalCheck-in Apr 20, 2019
Small place in the big city
This is a great place to get away from the bustle of Midtown. Feels like you're in a neighborhood. Great restaurants nearby.
1 night family trip
Verified Hotels.com guest review
8.0Very GoodCheck-in Apr 9, 2019
The friendly, helpful staff were A+. On the minus side the continental breakfast needs more variety and better baked goods.
5 night family trip
Verified Expedia guest review
Sorry, there are no traveller photos for this property.
Reviews and ratings contained within this site are the subjective opinions of customers and suppliers; they do not represent or reflect Hotels.com’s position. Neither Hotels.com nor the parties involved in providing review content shall be held liable for any damages of any sort resulting from use of these reviews